2015 Reading Challenge {Week Sixteen} and {More Excitedly} Fall 2015 Book Buzz

I am stillllllll reading Kelley Armstrong’s Sea of Shadows, but I’m almost done.  So so close.  I’m hoping to be done tonight. Luckily, I have something else that I am really excited to talk about this week: Book Buzz 2015.

I am a member of the New Jersey Library Association and each year I attend the annual conference. While I saw many great and worthwhile presentations, my most favorite was, by far, Book Buzz 2015.  I got to watch a panel of four publishing house representatives talk about the most exciting new books being released in the Fall of 2015. Today, I’m going to share some of my favorites with you!

Picture Books

E 1

There are some absolutely fabulous new picture books coming out in the fall.  I can tell you, without a doubt, Little Elliot, Big Family is the one I am most excited to read. We love Little Elliot in my house and I know this new book will be just as special to me and my son. I’m also crazy excited for Aaron Reynold’s Nerdy Birdy {love the glasses BTW}, Kevin Henkes’ lastest book, Waiting, and Susan Reagan’s Slipper and Flipper in the Quest for the Golden Sun. {The illustrations in this look incredible!}

E 2Ryan T. Higgins’ Mother Goose Bruce looks hysterical and will more than likely end up in Dax’s collection:

Bruce the bear likes to keep to himself. That, and eat eggs. But when his hard-boiled goose eggs turn out to be real, live goslings, he starts to lose his appetite. And even worse, the goslings are convinced he’s their mother. Bruce tries to get the geese to go south, but he can’t seem to rid himself of his new companions. What’s a bear to do?

Lastly, Patrick McDonnell’s Thank You and Good Night looks precious and is being said to be a great new bed time story that focuses on saying thank you to the day, the night, and good friends.

Juvenile/Independent Readers/Chapter Books

I feel the need to disclaim that this is probably the one age group that I read least, but there are some really great new books coming out and I think I might be reading more Js in the near future…

J 1Let’s start out with The Story of Diva and Flea aka Mo Willems’ fist ever Chapter Book.  Say whaaaaaaaaaa?!?!?! Then Rick Riordan is starting a new mythology series, this time with a focus on Norse gods and goddesses. This is the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series and book one is The Sword of Summer. {No cover art yet.} Victoria Forester is following up The Girl Who Could Fly with The Boy Who Knew Everything. Katherine Applegate’s Crenshaw sounds incredible:

Martin and his sisters have fallen on hard times, and are living in their parents’ car. Crenshaw is a stray cat, also down on his luck. One of them is imaginary. Both of them need all the help they can get to weather what life throws in front of them. Friends matter, whether real or imaginary.

Then there is Curiosity House: The Shrunken Head written by Lauren Oliver {!!!!!!!} This is Oliver’s first Juvenile chapter book and I am really excited to see how she writes for a younger audience.

J2

Adam Mansbach, the New York Times Bestselling author of GO THE F**K TO SLEEP, and Alan Zweibel, a former “Saturday Night Live” writer, team up to write Benjamin Franklin: Huge Pain in my…. Graphic novel award winner Gene Luen Yang and Mike Holmes collaborated on Secret Coders. Secret Coders is a middle grade graphic novel series all about the magic of coding. Secret Coders is kind of like Harry Potter. A bunch of tweens find a secret school. However, instead of teaching magic, the secret school teaches coding. {Yay for STEM/STEAM friendly graphic novels!} Frank Cottrell Boyce has a new book, The Astounding Broccoli Boy and Nicholas Gannon will be debuting his first book, The Doldrums. Lastly, Corey Ann Haydu’s newest book, Rules for Stealing Stars, mixes family issues and magic: Four sisters rely on each other–and a bit of mysterious magic–to cope with their mother’s illness.

Young Adult

Now, we get to {what I think} is the really great stuff: New YA! Be ready for LOTS of book descriptions…

Y1

1. Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy:

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson.

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . .  until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

2. Hunter by Mercedes Lackey:

They came after the Diseray. Some were terrors ripped from our collective imaginations, remnants of every mythology across the world. And some were like nothing anyone had ever dreamed up, even in their worst nightmares.

Monsters.

Long ago, the barriers between our world and the Otherworld were ripped open, and it’s taken centuries to bring back civilization in the wake. Now, the luckiest Cits live in enclosed communities,behind walls that keep them safe from the hideous monsters fighting to break through. Others are not so lucky.

3. A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston:

Lo-Melkhiin killed three hundred girls before he came to her village, looking for a wife. When she sees the dust cloud on the horizon, she knows he has arrived. She knows he will want the loveliest girl: her sister. She vows she will not let her be next.

4. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin:

Code Name Verity meets Inglourious Basterds in this fast-paced novel from the author of The Walled City.

The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s ball.

Yael, who escaped from a death camp, has one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. Oh yeah. She’s also a werewolf.

Y2

 

5. The Rest of Us Live Here by Patrick Ness:

What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

6. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo:

Ocean’s Eleven meets Game of Thrones.

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price–and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction-if they don’t kill each other first.

7. Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson {I legit fangirl Rae Carson!}:

Lee Westfall has a strong, loving family. She has a home she loves and a loyal steed. She has a best friend–who might want to be something more.

She also has a secret.

Lee can sense gold in the world around her. Veins deep in the earth. Small nuggets in a stream. Even gold dust caught underneath a fingernail. She has kept her family safe and able to buy provisions, even through the harshest winters. But what would someone do to control a girl with that kind of power? A person might murder for it.

When everything Lee holds dear is ripped away, she flees west to California–where gold has just been discovered. Perhaps this will be the one place a magical girl can be herself. If she survives the journey.

….And that about wraps up the 2015 Fall Book Buzz!  I know I mentioned so many titles, so thank you for sticking with me til the end. I hope you found a few books that you are super excited about and I would love to hear what you plan to pick up in the comments section below.

I’m most excited for…well… all the YA! I want to read all seven.  Hopefully I will be posting about them in future Reading Challenge check ins. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenge {Week Sixteen} and {More Excitedly} Fall 2015 Book Buzz

  1. OK so the picture books look awesome. i am quite obsessed with buying my kids books. Like all the time. And I’m in on Dumplin as John Green and Rainbow Rowell were mentioned. I tried to read Patrick Ness before and DNF so I’m not sure but everyone loves him.

Leave a Reply